Scenic Rim and Rockhampton regions now fully drought declared.

Almost two thirds of Queensland now drought declared.

The total area of Queensland that is drought-declared has risen to 65.2% after a significant lack of rainfall across central, southern and south east Queensland.

Minister for Agricultural Industry Development Mark Furner said he had accepted the recommendations of local drought committees to drought declare further areas as there were serious concerns around pasture growth and water supplies.

Drought Declared 1 April.png

“The local drought committees (LDCs) from the central, southern and south east Queensland regions have met and assessed the seasonal conditions from April 2018 to March 2019,” Mr Furner said.

“These areas saw significantly-below average rainfall over the last year, and the rainfall they did receive had little impact on breaking the ongoing drought.

“Therefore I have accepted the recommendations of the LDCs and my department to drought declare five additional shires and extend or issue part drought declarations in four others.”

The new declarations cover Ipswich Regional Council, the remainder of Western Downs Regional Council, Scenic Rim Regional Council, the remainder of Banana Regional Council, Gladstone Regional Council, Rockhampton Regional Council, Livingstone Shire and the southern portion of the Central Highlands Regional Council including part of the Woorabinda Aboriginal Shire Council area, defined as south of the Capricorn Highway.

For help with your Drought Declaration Assistance application contact QDO on 3236 2955